Do I Bow? Do I Cross Myself? Do I Prostrate?

There is something about Prostrations and Bowing that has me a bit uneasy.  I don’t think it is embarrassment.  Well… maybe a little.  I just don’t want to do it wrong.  I think it has to do with showing respect to the tradition. Mostly giving right honor to the saint.  Did I mention I don’t want to look foolish.  Why is that?

In all seriousness the whole thing is out of my element.  It seems normal, and not at all weird.  Actually it is quite beautiful.  People say imitation is the best flattery.  One of these days I will be bowing and prostrating with the best of them.

4 thoughts on “Do I Bow? Do I Cross Myself? Do I Prostrate?

  1. Thanks Jim for the comment. Yeah I am still a bit unnerved, but getting better. Thanks for the link to your post! All we can do is our best. At vespers there is a Roman Catholic seminary student who attends. He like me is new to all of this. So I am not alone in making movements in the church that might feel a bit awkward to what I am use to.

    Kirk

  2. I’m glad you’re not waiting until you feel like an expert to dive in. I’m on a journey into Orthodoxy as well and am currently a catechumen. So much to learn for this former charismatic, pentecostal, non-denominationalist. Blessings on your journey!

    • Jeremy thank you for the comment. Glad to hear about your coming to Orthodoxy. I pray for your continual transformation. Be blessed on your Journey!

Leave a Reply

