First time at a OCA parish

oca-so-dalsskSo last Sunday in our continued journey we visited St. Seraphim Cathedral.  This was an absolutely lovely church.  The iconography was like something that you have to see in person.  No photo can give justice to the beauty of this temple.

The experience here was much like what I experienced at St. Nicholas.  However this church had less of a small parish feel, and some of the practices reflected this more.  Not what I would consider a big deal.  It is just different.

I have to say I have grown accustomed to the Liturgy at the Byzantine Catholic Church I have been attending.  I love the homilys, and there is a sense of familiarity to it all.

The choir as I guessed was amazing.  I noticed the style of chant was different also to what I have been accustomed to.  I have read some on differences in tones and such, but I am not at a place to adequately describe this.

The homily was very good.  I enjoyed it very much.  So much of the visit was sensory overload that it is hard to take it all in.  The Father talked about our gifting, and how we use them.  To put our trust in the Lord, and not of this world.  He talked about the importance to not worry about how someone chooses to use what the Lord has given them.  That we are to focus on our self and the work the Lord has given us.

Not to many people came to great us after service, but a few older ladies did.  They were kind to us, and our tribe of children.  Our little one tends to move around some during Liturgy.  Especially when there are no seats!

I assume this is fine as long as as long as they remain quiet.  Well as quiet as you can expect a basically well behaved 2 year old to be. I don’t know what is considered appropriate in a situation like this. I tend to be to strict, and possibly to uptight when it comes to things like this.  I am trying to be more free. Really i am 🙂

This next Sunday we plan on visiting again.  I think we will go to the parish hall this time for coffee.  It truly is my prayer that some woman my wifes age would come to her and start a conversation.  I think if one or two friendships start from this parish we might be in our new home.

4 thoughts on “First time at a OCA parish

  1. Hi! I saw that Fr. Stephen Freeman had replied saying he’d read your blog post and I thought I’d do the same. I will be praying for your family to find your home in Orthodoxy, hopefully at St. Seraphim’s. My family was blessed with our home at St.Ignatius of Antioch in Franklin, TN, when we left the Episcopal church in 2006. God is good all the time! He will continue to help you and your family, as you know. And thanks for this blog! Dr.Rossi is one of my favorite podcasts on Ancient Faith Radio and I enjoyed reading his comments for saying the Jesus Prayer here. God bless you all!

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I have to say I am a bit surprised by all the visitors to my forum because I commented on Fr. Freeman’s blog. Never would I have thought this would happen. I good surprise I must say.

      Thank you for your kind words. They are encouraging. It is nice to hear from another former Episcopalian. Thank you for your prayers they are greatly needed.

      I have actually never listened Dr. Rossi on podcast, but I have read several things he has wrote.

      Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

