Second Visit Same Church New Experience

display_image.phpSo last Sunday was visit two at St. Seraphim in Dallas.  As the previous Sunday I really enjoyed the Liturgy.  It really has a more formal feel then the Byzantine Catholic Church I have been attending.  For the most part I am indifferent.  Like I said in my last post.  It all is to new to form an opinion.

After Liturgy a man walked up to my family and introduced himself as Deacon Gregory.  I am not sure if he goes by Deacon, Father, or Deacon Father .  So for the meantime I will address him as Deacon Gregory since that is what he introduced himself as.

Deacon Gregory welcomed us to the parish.  He asked a few questions, and invited us to the coffee hour.  He introduced us to several people.  Including his family, and another family who one of them will be my sons Sunday school teacher,  I was also introduced to Subdeacon Vladimir.  He is a very nice fellow and the one who did the icon work at the Cathedral.  I look forward to getting to know him more.

My youngest was really full of energy.  She wanted to be picked up.  Then she wanted down.  She cried a few times, but for the most part was quiet.  By 3/4 of the service I finally just let her wander from a chair to the place I was standing.  It was about 3 feet.  She seemed to do fine.  I figured if the older ladies were walking around, and lighting candles.  This little bit my daughter was doing was of no distraction.  Overall people have been kind.  I get no fowl looks from people when she cries.  Just warm smiles, and the offering of a chair.

I must say that this Sunday was an answer to prayer. I have asked many to keep us in prayer, and it seems that God’s favor was with us.  It looks as if my prayers are being answered.  I am not one who is given to emotion when it comes to the sacred, but I can honestly say I felt the presence of God strongly on Sunday.  It was about twenty or thirty minutes from the end of Liturgy.  It was so heavy it was like being under a blanket.  It was a very beautiful and peaceful experience.

I have no idea what will come this next Sunday.  I had plans on being at the Byzantine Catholic parish for a special guest an Abbot from up North.  A man I have heard talk on Catholic Answers.  I have decided to miss this, and attend again at St. Seraphim.  I am looking forward to the pilgrimage to the Cathedral once again.

2 thoughts on “Second Visit Same Church New Experience

  1. It’s a big deal that you got “Smiles” instead of “Frowns” regarding your kids. I know of at least two stories (in protestant churches) where the people where asked to leave and, basically, find another church because their babies/young ones were just acting like normal kids. (I guess with the sermon being such a “big deal” in the protestant churches, they like it as quiet as possible)

    God is faithful. He allows us to “feel” His Presence when we really need it.

    • Thanks I think so also. Still I would imagine that in a parish like the one we have been attending one would have to be tolerant of little ones. It is an awful lot of standing for a little person. Unlike many protestant churches children are not put away during the service. They are with their family worshiping. It was the same way in the Episcopal church. Well all the the tolerance for behavior. That was drastically lower. 🙂

Leave a Reply

